Hassan al Tariq ibn Yusuf ibn Askari al Ghassani al Jibayli

From Kingdom of Atenveldt
Revision as of 20:11, 14 May 2021 by Floki (talk | contribs)
Photo
Tariq ibn yusuf ibn 'askari al-ghassani4.jpg
Tariq
Information
Resides: Kingdom of Atenveldt
Status: Active
Heraldry
Tariq heraldry.png
Per bend indented argent and checky purpure and argent, in sinister chief a horse's head couped contourny sable breathing flames proper..

Preferred Title: Mu'allim

OP Link

Laureled on November 9, 2019

Arts Include:

Fiber arts (Block printing/ embroidery/ middle eastern garb construction),

  • leather work
  • wood work
  • some metal work- armoring
  • middle eastern book binding
  • cooking

When did you start playing? What was your first event? Why did you become interested in the SCA? I started playing in early 1990. My first event was Grand Outlandish. I became interested in the SCA because of the armored combat as well as for my love of medieval history.

What activities do you like to do in the SCA? What are your main pursuits? Camping is my favorite thing along with armored combat. I also enjoy the arts (particularly block printing, leather work, and woodworking). The social aspect of the SCA is extremely important to me and I enjoy serving the organization.

How did you come up with your SCA name? What is your persona? Do you have heraldry? What is the meaning of your heraldry? I chose a middle eastern persona to honor and create an opportunity to research my father's ancestry. I am an early 13th Century Syrian in the service of the Ayubbid dynasty, having been an amir under the great Salah al Din.although I serve the Sunni Muslim rulers, I am a christian Ghassanid.

Have you worked on any Arts and Science Projects? Is there something you are particularly proud of? Have you done artisan show cases, competitions, or displays? Have you made and turned in largess for your barony or kingdom?: I have done many projects over the years. Most recently I have printed fabric and made garb for several of the last Outlandish Crowns.

Have you done any martial arts (hard suit, thrown weapons, rapier, archery, etc)? Have you won any tournaments? Do you have any accomplishments in this area? Prior to my elevation to the order of the Laurel I served as senior squire to Duke Aaron Graves. I have won many tournaments over the years and one day I hope to win Crown Tournament.

What kind of volunteer work have you done at events (set up/take down, watch, gate, etc)? Have you volunteered to teach any classes or mentored people? Have you been a guard or lady-in-waiting? Have you ran any events? I have served in many capacities over the years. Most recently I served as the Terretorial Baron of the Citadel of the Southern Pass (Outlands - 4 years), Dean of the Royal Outlands Interkingdom University, and Event Steward for Battlemoor (2 years and counting).

Tells us your likes and dislikes (mostly in case anyone ever wants to give you a gift). Any allergies?: I really have no serious dislikes. I have a mild allergy to seafood.

If you would like to put your social media (for people to be able to contact you) link on here, please include it: https://www.facebook.com/gemaloof